Estonian Music Days

Ensemble of the Estonian Electronic Music Society (EMA)

Formed in 2017, the Ensemble of Estonian Electronic Music Society (EMA) is dedicated to performing electronic chamber music. The group aims to transcend technological restraints and promote sensitive musicianship, responding to each other and keen hearing, making full use of all the incredibly rich sonic possibilities offered by electronic instruments. The Ensemble of the Estonian Electronic Music Society has been lauded for their flexibility and musicality, which, in electronic music, can easily be lost among the switches and sliders. The programme of this concert includes new compositions created as a result of the collaborative residency between the ensemble and the Estonian Composers’ Union, where composers were introduced to the ample technological opportunities of the ensemble and which also involved the usage of live electronics in contemporary music. To promote cooperation among the Baltic States, the programme also includes electronic works by Latvian and Lithuanian composers.

Members: Doris Hallmägi, Ekke Västrik, Mihkel Tomberg, Taavi Kerikmäe, Tarmo Johannes and Theodore Lee Parker.