26.04.–05.05.2024 / Tartu

Formed in 2009, defunensemble has astonishingly fast established itself as one of the most important contemporary music groups in Finland. The ensemble’s vigorous mission is to systematically delve into the world of electroacoustic music. Defunensemble gives Finnish premieres of the most essential electroacoustic repertoire, both classic and current, while simultaneously actively commissioning new works incorporating the latest technologies. With artistic director Sami Klemola, the ensemble’s concert concepts have proven to be highly innovative, blending different sub-genres of the electroacoustic persuasion with an unprecedented street credibility – any dusty notions of classical music are soon forgotten. A serious professional undertaking, the musicians and sound designers of defunensemble are some of the most active personalities in the Finnish contemporary music scene. After conquering the major Finnish festivals, the ensemble is already gaining international pull, with their concert calendar filling up rapidly.

In its brief history, defunensemble has already performed over 120 concerts and at over 20 different festivals, the most notable being Tampere biennale (FI), Time of Music (FI), Musica nova Helsinki (FI), Helsinki Festival (FI), Flow Festival (FI), Klang Concert Series (FI), Crusell Music Festival (FI), Nordic Music Days (FI, SE), dOCUMENTA (DE), chiffren kieler tage für neue musik (DE), November Music (NL), Loop Festival (BE), Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (GB), Re:new music (DK), ISCM World Music Festival (EST) and Copenhagen Avantgarde Music Festival Klang (DK). Defunensemble has premiered works by, for example, Tim Page, Antti Auvinen, Hikari Kiyama, Ville Raasakka, Perttu Haapanen, Pink Twins, M. A. Numminen, Guðmundur Steinn Gunnarsson, Peter Ablinger, Christian Winther Christensen, Alexander Schubert and Gilbert Nouno.

Hanna Kinnunen, flute
Mikko Raasakka, clarinet
Emil Holmström, piano
Markus Hohti, cello
Timo Kurkikangas, electronics
Anders Pohjola, electronics
Sami Klemola, artistic director