Tallinn / Tartu / Online
Add to calendar
Mon, May 1 2023
19:00 – 20:00
Ensemble U:

The Concert and Theatre House of EMTA Chamber Hall
Venue info + map

Tickets 20/15€

Tarmo Johannes (flute)
Helena Tuuling (clarinet)
Vambola Krigul (percussion)
Taavi Kerikmäe (piano)
Merje Roomere (violin)
Levi-Danel Mägila (cello)

21 g

Age VeeroosPoint of View (2022) 

Alisson KruusmaaElevation 2. Beyond the Sun (2023, premiere)

Tatjana Kozlova-JohannesCorners (2017)

Sander SaarmetsConfluence (2021) 


Point of View (2022). Age Veeroos: “This piece focuses on a single theme examined from the perspective of the individual and the group. Individually (solo), the vision is presented in a straightforward and clear way, sometimes with excessive enthusiasm. In a group (ensemble), flexibility and working towards a common goal are more important. However, because individualism is deeply ingrained in us, holding common goals in sight is not always easy and the focus can become blurred. Point of View consists of six solos and one ensemble section. It can be heard interactively at https://uuu.ee/player/pointofview/ by choosing the solo at the beginning of the piece and answering a question after the first part.”

Alisson Kruusma:Elevation 2. Beyond the Sun (2023, premiere) for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin and cello is an imaginary sequel to the piece Elevation 1. Above the Mountains (2023) for viola and piano. These two successively written pieces of chamber music are inspired by the first verse of the poem Élévation by Charles Baudelaire (1821–1867). Both pieces are divided into three parts.”


Au-dessus des étangs, au-dessus des vallées,
des montagnes, de bois, des nuages, des mers,
par delà le soleil, par delà les éthers,
par delà les confins des sphères étoilées 


Above the mountains and above the clouds,
above the valleys, woods and lakes and ocean,
beyond the sun, beyond ethereal spaces
and starry spheres, beyond their utmost bounds

Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes Corners (2017) for six performers, where the Ensemble U: the instrumentation is enriched with drifts from electric guitars.

Sander Saarmets:Confluence (2022) describes the slow movement of two imaginary masses towards confluence. Although it is an inexorable and almost violent process, a conscious observation of the situation allows us to see beauty even in the inevitable.”

Ensemble U: celebrates its 20th birthday in 2023. The ensemble is known for its sensitivity for sound, openness for bold experimental ideas and the ability to perform even the most demanding works without a conductor. U: performs the masterworks of modern composers as well as experimental compositions. The title of the concert “21 grams” refers to the Estonian Music Days 2023 Festival theme: it makes one want to take an inch rule or balance scales to measure the said quantity.

The concert will be live-broadcasted by Klassikaraadio.