Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /data01/virt22169/domeenid/www.helilooja.ee/emp2020/2021/wp-content/themes/emp2021/header.php on line 52
Maria Faust – Estonian Music Days

Baltic Music Days
Estonian Music Days

Online festival 2021

Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_REFERER" in /data01/virt22169/domeenid/www.helilooja.ee/emp2020/2021/wp-content/themes/emp2021/template-parts/content-bio.php on line 11

Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_REFERER" in /data01/virt22169/domeenid/www.helilooja.ee/emp2020/2021/wp-content/themes/emp2021/template-parts/content-bio.php on line 11
Maria Faust

Maria Faust (b.1979 in Kuressaare, Estonia) is an Estonian saxophonist and composer living in Copenhagen, Denmark. She is best known for her work as a composer and an instrumentalist in the fields of third stream jazz, modern big band music, improvised music, and other more alternative musical styles. She is currently releasing music under the labels Stunt Records and ILK Music.

Throughout her career, Faust’s musical projects have gained attention and garnered praise for blurring the lines between various musical styles and genres. More specifically, she is recognised for her ability to create and merge structured compositions rooted in various Western music traditions with contemporary elements such as free improvisation and electronics. Thus, she is acknowledged across many musical fields for her inventive and versatile voice as a composer, instrumentalist, improviser, and band leader. She is also known for her exhaustive research and preparation while composing. Historical narratives from Estonia (especially while occupied by various countries/empires) as well as from her own upbringing have been used as themes. She has also worked together with renowned pop and rock music producers including John Parish (PJ Harvey, Tracy Chapman) and Mark Howard (Bob Dylan, Neil Young).

In 2014, Faust won two Danish Music Awards (Jazz Composer of the Year and Crossover Album of the Year) for her release Sacrum Facere. In 2015, she received the Danske Jazzkaar Prize in Estonia, and was also awarded the Niels Matthiasens Mindelegat, a prestigious Danish cultural grant. She is a perennial nominee for both Danish and Estonian Music Awards.

In 2020 Maria Faust Sacrum Facere “ORGAN” album released on Stunt Records won the Best Experimental Album Of The Year 2020 at the Danish Music Awards. Maria Faust was also  nominated for Best Jazz Composer Of The Year.

“ORGAN” was the DownBeat Magazine Best Album of 2020 and the winner of Best Jazz Album 2021 at the Estonian Music Awards.

Faust has performed at many well-known jazz festivals across Europe, including the Pori Jazz Festival and Tampere Jazz Happening (FIN), Kongsberg Jazz Festival (NOR), Jazzahead (GER), Jazzkaar (EST), and is a regular fixture at both the Copenhagen Jazz Festival and Århus International Jazz Festival (DK). She tours regularly around western Europe and has performed in China, Russia, the Balkan Peninsula, and South America.

Source: https://www.jazz.ee/en/artist/maria-faust/

Aaro Pertmann Age Juurikas Age Veeroos Aleksandr Žedeljov Alisson Kruusmaa Alvils Altmanis André de Sousa Vieira Andres Kaljuste Andris Dzenītis Anna Ķirse Anna-Margret Noorhani Antoine Beuger Arash Yazdani Ardo Ran Varres Art Leete  Arturas Bumšteinas Arvydas Malcys Beat Furrer Bronius Kutavičius Diana Čemerytė Eladio Barreto Aguilar Elis Hallik Elo Masing EMTA Sinfonietta Ensemble for New Music Tallinn Ensemble of the Estonian Electronic Music Society (EMA) Ensemble U: Eugene Birman Evelin Seppar Evija Skuķe Fie Schouten Georgs Pelēcis Gintaras Sodeika Gundega Šmite Helena Tulve Janika Oras Jievaras Jasinskis Jonathan Harvey Justina Repečkaitė Kadri-Ann Sumera Kaspar Mänd Kristiina Tambets Kristjan Kõrver Krists Auznieks Lauri Jõeleht Lepo Sumera Liina Sumera Liisa Hõbepappel Linda Leimane Madis Arukask Madli Marje Gildemann Mads Schang Olsen Maija Einfelde Malle Maltis Maria Faust Maria Kõrvits Mariliis Valkonen Märt-Matis Lill Mihhail Gerts  Mirjam Tally Mykolas Natalevičius Oliver Dubon Onutė Narbutaitė Paul Daniel Piano Quartet Quadra Platon Buravicky Rasmus Puur Régis Campo Riho Esko Maimets Riivo Kallasmaa Rita Mačiliūnaitė Santa Bušs Santa Ratniece Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet Synaesthesis Taavi Kerikmäe Taivo Lints Tallinn Chamber Orchestra Talvi Hunt Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir (EPCC) Timo Steiner Tõnis Kaumann Twenty Fingers Duo Ülo Krigul Vytautas V. Jurgutis Yang Ren YXUS Ensemble Žibuoklė Martinaitytė