Baltic Music Days
Estonian Music Days

Online festival 2021
Rasmus Puur

Rasmus Puur (b 1991) is a member of the Estonian Composers’ Union since 2014. Rasmus Puur is a fruitful author of choral music, acknowledged conductor and valued arranger who has come forth as an author of the concept of the XII Youth Song and Dance Celebration “Here I’ll Stay” and composer of the opera “The Colours of Clouds” that was staged on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia.

Rasmus Puur graduated from the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre in composition under Tõnu Kõrvits and René Eespere in 2014 cum laude. Additionally he studied conducting with Tõnu Kaljuste. In 2012, he participated in the international master course for arrangers of Vince Mendoza and Metropole Orkest.

Rasmus Puur has written orchestral music, vocal and instrumental chamber works, incidental music and a large number of arrangements. Choral music including cantatas “I Dreamed About Estonia” (“Unes nägin ma Eestimaad” 2018, text: Doris Kareva), “Wind of Freedom, Wind of Wisdom” (“Vabaduse tuul, tarkuse tuul” 2018, text: Sulev Oll) and “Winter Cantata” (2016), cycles “Christmas in the Past” (“Kauged jõulud”, 2018), “Songs of Permanence” (“Kestmise laulud”, 2019), “Seven Miniatures on texts by Kaalu Kirme” (2015) a.o. forms the core of his oeuvre. “We” (“Meie”) for joint choir and “The Land That I Love” (“Maa, mida armastan”) for children’s choir has been in the programmes of Estonian song celebrations. Concert-performance “Once, I Will Truly Give Myself Away” (“Kord annan end päriselt ära”) – musical contemplation about young women and men today and their thoughts and feelings – was built up on choral cycles “Thoughts of Young Woman” and “Thoughts of Youn Man” and was staged in Tallinn Creative Hub in 2017 (stage director Priit Võigemast). Rasmus Puur’s opera “The Colours of Clouds” (libretto by Laur Lomper, stage director Roman Baskin) was premiered in the Estonian National Opera in autumn 2017, the work was the winner of the opera competition organised by Estonian Nationa Opera on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia.

Puur’s music has been performed by Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, Estonian National Opera Symphony Orchestra, Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra, Nargenfestival Orchestra, Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir, Estonian National Male Choir, Chamber Choir Collegium Musicale and many amateur collectives.

Rasmus Puur is a valued arranger and orchestrator. His works include Jarek Kasar’s/Uku Uusberg’s opera “From the Roof”, Priit Pajusaar’s opera “The Prince and the Pauper” and musical “Lotte in the Dream World” and others.

From 2007–2017, Rasmus Puur together with Edmar Tuul conducted the youth orchestra Reaalmažoor that gave over 80 concerts and released 6 CD-s. He has been musical director and conductor of Jarek Kasar’s opera “From the Roof” (NO99 Straw Theatre) and musical “Shrek” (NUKU Theatre) as well as concert-ceremony of the 101th anniversary of the Republic of Estonia in 2019. Rasmus Puur was the author of the concept of the XII Youth Song and Dance Celebration (co-author Veiko Tubin) and conductor of mixed choirs at the XXVII General Song Celebration. Since 2015, Puur is a conductor of the Old Town Educational College String Orchestra. For his activity as a conductor, Puur has been awarded the Estonian Choral Association prize The Young Conductor of the Year 2017, the annual award of the Estonian Symphony Orchestras’ Association (2017), Veljo Tormis Fund Scholarship (2020) and Tõnu Kaljuste Scholarship (2021).

© EMIK 2020 (Estonian Music Information Centre)

Aaro Pertmann Age Juurikas Age Veeroos Aleksandr Žedeljov Alisson Kruusmaa Alvils Altmanis André de Sousa Vieira Andres Kaljuste Andris Dzenītis Anna Ķirse Anna-Margret Noorhani Antoine Beuger Arash Yazdani Ardo Ran Varres Art Leete  Arturas Bumšteinas Arvydas Malcys Beat Furrer Bronius Kutavičius Diana Čemerytė Eladio Barreto Aguilar Elis Hallik Elo Masing EMTA Sinfonietta Ensemble for New Music Tallinn Ensemble of the Estonian Electronic Music Society (EMA) Ensemble U: Eugene Birman Evelin Seppar Evija Skuķe Fie Schouten Georgs Pelēcis Gintaras Sodeika Gundega Šmite Helena Tulve Janika Oras Jievaras Jasinskis Jonathan Harvey Justina Repečkaitė Kadri-Ann Sumera Kaspar Mänd Kristiina Tambets Kristjan Kõrver Krists Auznieks Lauri Jõeleht Lepo Sumera Liina Sumera Liisa Hõbepappel Linda Leimane Madis Arukask Madli Marje Gildemann Mads Schang Olsen Maija Einfelde Malle Maltis Maria Faust Maria Kõrvits Mariliis Valkonen Märt-Matis Lill Mihhail Gerts  Mirjam Tally Mykolas Natalevičius Oliver Dubon Onutė Narbutaitė Paul Daniel Piano Quartet Quadra Platon Buravicky Rasmus Puur Régis Campo Riho Esko Maimets Riivo Kallasmaa Rita Mačiliūnaitė Santa Bušs Santa Ratniece Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet Synaesthesis Taavi Kerikmäe Taivo Lints Tallinn Chamber Orchestra Talvi Hunt Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir (EPCC) Timo Steiner Tõnis Kaumann Twenty Fingers Duo Ülo Krigul Vytautas V. Jurgutis Yang Ren YXUS Ensemble Žibuoklė Martinaitytė