Baltic Music Days
Estonian Music Days

Online festival 2021
Trio HETK (Estonia/Netherlands)

Tue, May 18 2021, 19:00
Online from Tallinn, Estonian Public Broadcasting, Studio 1

Support the festival


Taavi Kerikmäe – piano
Tarmo Johannes – flute
Fie Schouten – bass clarinet

Open chat

Triplex DNA

Justina Repečkaitė (*1989, Lithuania) – Incantare for flute and tape (2018)

Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes (*1977) – To Sing a Song Before the Night Comes for flute, bass clarinet and piano (2020, premiere) 

Santa Bušs (*1981, Latvia) – Rosemarin for solo bass clarinet (2010) 

Jonathan Harvey (1939–2012, UK) – The Riot for flute, bass clarinet and piano (1993)


The title Incantare translates from Latin, in – ‘into’ + cantare ‘to sing’. In this composition, flutist part is heavily charged with singing into the flute while playing. The electronics part is compiled of only one source: composer’s voice of vocal fry, overtone singing, breaths, noises and whispers of charms repeating Bird without a sting, tree without a trunk, water without legs (Paukštis be geluonies, medis be liemens, vanduo be kojų in Lithuanian). Flute both imitates and fights against the electronics part, thus creating charged dynamics. Video camera is pursuing the performer until at the end of the composition the flutist fights back and starts pursuing the cameraman. (Justina Repečkaitė)

To Sing a Song Before the Night Comes (2020, premiere). Darkness is gathering, we sense it. We know – our lives cannot continue like this, but we are powerless before this situation. We want to flee from this knowledge so as not to witness the terrible pain, not to become vulnerable. We are looking for something light and beautiful to grab divert our attention and create an illusion that everything is in order, and feel a moment of peace. We push away anything that reflects the severity of what is going on. Is there still time to sing a song before our descent into darkness. Would it echo in darkness or would someone want to hear it? (Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes)

Rosmarin (Rosemary, 2010) for bass clarinet. The heat that makes the air vibrate and refreshing wind that brings along those pleasant aromas of rosemary and other plants growing on the shores of Mediterranean sea… Incredibly blue skies and crystal clear water that dances with that same wind and beautifully plays with sunlight… Shadows of centuries-old trees and birds that are serenading in the moonlight… Echoes of religious processions and folk dances filling those tiny streets of Teulada… Tastes and smells so characteristic and unique… Rosmarin was written in 2010, reflecting on a summer I was lucky to spend as an artist-in-residence at Le Ville Matte in Sardinia and is dedicated to clarinetist Víctor de la Rosa. (Santa Bušs)

The Riot (1993) is a work in which virtuoso exhilaration is predominant. The game is to throw around themes which retain their identity sufficiently to bounce off each other sharply, even when combined polyphonically or mixed up together in new configurations. Each theme belongs to a distinctive harmonic field characterised by about two intervals, for example the first is based on fourths and whole tones creating also minor sevenths and, as a further development, linear unfoldings in circles of fourths (or fifths). From time to time energy runs out and a mechanical repetition of an element takes over, dying away like an electronic ‘delay’. Such a process in extended form provides the ending. The work was written for HET Trio. (Jonathan Harvey)


HETK Trio (hetk ‘moment’, ‘instant’ in Estonian) is inspired by and pays tribute to the world famous Het Trio (Harrie Starreveld – flute, Harry Sparnaay – bass clarinet, René Eckhardt – piano) that was active in 1982–2006, performed all over the world and premièred over 180 new pieces. Fie Schouten (bass clarinet) and Tarmo Johannes (flute) studied respectively with Harry Sparnaay and Harrie Starreveld. HETK Trio tries partly to pass on the best pieces of their vast heritage but it is also interested in finding and commissioning new pieces to extend the repertoire of the peculiar trio.

Live broadcast by EMP TV & Klassikaraadio. The concert will be transferred across Europe through the EBU (European Broadcasting Union).

Subscription was successful

Aaro Pertmann Age Juurikas Age Veeroos Aleksandr Žedeljov Alisson Kruusmaa Alvils Altmanis André de Sousa Vieira Andres Kaljuste Andris Dzenītis Anna Ķirse Anna-Margret Noorhani Antoine Beuger Arash Yazdani Ardo Ran Varres Art Leete  Arturas Bumšteinas Arvydas Malcys Beat Furrer Bronius Kutavičius Diana Čemerytė Eladio Barreto Aguilar Elis Hallik Elo Masing EMTA Sinfonietta Ensemble for New Music Tallinn Ensemble of the Estonian Electronic Music Society (EMA) Ensemble U: Eugene Birman Evelin Seppar Evija Skuķe Fie Schouten Georgs Pelēcis Gintaras Sodeika Gundega Šmite Helena Tulve Janika Oras Jievaras Jasinskis Jonathan Harvey Justina Repečkaitė Kadri-Ann Sumera Kaspar Mänd Kristiina Tambets Kristjan Kõrver Krists Auznieks Lauri Jõeleht Lepo Sumera Liina Sumera Liisa Hõbepappel Linda Leimane Madis Arukask Madli Marje Gildemann Mads Schang Olsen Maija Einfelde Malle Maltis Maria Faust Maria Kõrvits Mariliis Valkonen Märt-Matis Lill Mihhail Gerts  Mirjam Tally Mykolas Natalevičius Oliver Dubon Onutė Narbutaitė Paul Daniel Piano Quartet Quadra Platon Buravicky Rasmus Puur Régis Campo Riho Esko Maimets Riivo Kallasmaa Rita Mačiliūnaitė Santa Bušs Santa Ratniece Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet Synaesthesis Taavi Kerikmäe Taivo Lints Tallinn Chamber Orchestra Talvi Hunt Tatjana Kozlova-Johannes The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir (EPCC) Timo Steiner Tõnis Kaumann Twenty Fingers Duo Ülo Krigul Vytautas V. Jurgutis Yang Ren YXUS Ensemble Žibuoklė Martinaitytė