Baltic Music Days
Estonian Music Days

Online festival
Add to calendar
Tue, April 27
Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet (Latvia)

Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet (Latvia)

Kristiāna Šīrante
Agnese Kanniņa-Liepiņa
Artūrs Gailis
Kārlis Klotiņš

Mundus Invisibilis

Santa Ratniece (*1977, Latvia) – Aragonite (2005)

Bronius Kutavičius (*1932, Lithuania) – Anno cum Tettigonia for quartet and tape (1980)

Anna Ķirse (*1988, Latvia) – “Mundus Invisibilis” for quartet and electronics (2020)

Maija Einfelde (*1939, Latvia) – String Quartet No. 3 (2009)

Age Veeroos (*1973) – String Quartet Whisperer (2021, premiere)


Since its establishment in 2007, the membership of the Sinfonietta Rīga string quartet has changed repeatedly. Currently, the members are Kristiāna Šīrante (first violin), Agnese Kanniņa-Liepiņa (second violin), Artūrs Gailis (viola), Kārlis Klotiņš (cello). Although the repertoire of the Sinfonietta String Quartet includes compositions from all historical periods, the ensemble is most comfortable performing modern music. Contemporary Latvian composers are essential to the quartet’s repertoire. The string quartet has collaborated with several Latvian musicians, for example with countertenor Sergejs Jēgers, percussionist Ivo Kūrskops, clarinetist Guntis Kuzma and double bass player Jānis Stafeckis. When performing compositions that require electronic sound processing, the quartet often collaborates with the artistic director of the Sinfonietta Riga orchestra, Normunds Šnē. The Sinfonietta Rīga String Quartet was nominated for the Latvian Great Music Award in 2007, in the category “The Debut of the Year”. The quartet performs not only in Riga, but all over Latvia.