Final Concert. The Horizon





Estonia Concert Hall
(Estonia pst 4)



Yxus Ensemble
Conductor Kaspar Mänd

Robert Jürjendal (b. 1966)
“Raba” / “Bog” for string quintet, woodwind quintet and percussion (2018, premiere)
Jüri Reinvere (b. 1971)
“Ecotone” for percussion and fixed media (2007)
Helena Tulve (b. 1972)
“ligne d’horizon” for large ensemble (2005, Estonian premiere)
Erkki-Sven Tüür (b. 1959)
“Lichttürme” for violin, cello and piano (2016)
Pärt Uusberg (b. 1986)
“Inner Sound” for large ensemble (2018, premiere)
Ardo Ran Varres (b. 1974)
“Apis mellifera” for cello, accordion, live electronics and fixed media (2017, premiere)

It seems to me that one of the touch points of this concert to Estonian Music Days and also unconsciously a holy subject is nature and environment, worries about what might one day appear from behind the horizon. Concerning Yxus Ensemble, it is worth mentioning that this time we perform as a large sinfonietta. Since the end of Nyyd Ensemble about a decade ago, this is the first and hopefully not the last programme for Yxus with a conductor involved.
Leho Karin, Yxus Ensemble